Latest News

The Premier Speedway club and Speedcars Australia are pleased to announce Warrnambool’s Sungold Stadium will host the 74th running of the Lucas Oil Australian Speedcar Championship in February, 2015.

In news that is sure to set tongues wagging, Speedcars have long been pushing to be a major part of the Premier Speedway calendar and in 2015 they will have the long awaited opportunity to showcase their prestigious national title on a race track that is tailor made to suit the exciting brand of racing that the Speedcars are renowned for.

Race fans too have lobbied for a top level Speedcar event of this magnitude at the famed high banks for many years and the wait is now over. Three rounds of championship heat races and a preliminary A-main will be conducted on Friday, February 27th with a further round of heats, the pole shuffle and mains including the 40 lap championship decider set down for Saturday night, February 28th. The Wednesday night leading into the weekend is set down for practice while Thursday night will see the annual Calcutta held by the Premier Speedway club that are renowned for providing great pre national championship functions.

In further confirmation of the events stature, Lucas Oil Products have further thrown their support behind the venue and the championship that will be known as the Lucas Oil Australian Speedcar Championship. Lucas Oil Products are also the naming rights sponsor for the jewel in Warrnambool’s calendar, the Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic held every year on the Australia Day weekend in January.

Understandably, Speedcars Australia president Andy Pearce is keen to bring the Lucas Oil Australian Speedcar Championship to arguably the finest track in the country as he confirms, “Both myself and everybody in the VSDA are really excited about next years championship. We are looking forward to working with David Mills and the entire Premier Speedway team and have no doubt this will be one of the best championships in the events history.”

“This will be the first time the Australian Championship has been held at Premier Speedway in the events 73 year history. Everybody knows Premier Speedway is one of the best venues in Australia and Speedcars produce the best wheel to wheel racing, it's a recipe for success.”

Three time and defending national Speedcar champion Adam Clarke will lead the Australian charge with a number of US imports expected to compete with the timing of the event set to coincide with the start of the US season.

“The timing is perfect to attract drivers from the land of stars and stripes as it is only a couple of weeks after the Australian rounds of the Powri World Championship in Queensland. I'm sure Adam Clarke will be excited to defend his crown at the Sungold Stadium.”

“I would expect nominations to be up around the 50 mark, anyone who has ever been to Sungold Stadium will want to be part of this championship and those who don't will wish they had,” said Pearce.

Sungold Stadium General Manager David Mills is also thrilled with the announcement as he confirmed Speedcars are universally recognised as the division that produces the most exciting racing.

“The Premier Speedway Club is extremely pleased to have the 2015 Lucas Oil Australian Speedcar Championship come to the venue in February. It’s an event that is rich in history and with the 74th running set to be decided at Warrnambool in 2015, we are expecting plenty of support from both competitors and race fans alike.”

Mills continued, “We believe we can provide a track that will suit the Speedcars and will produce some excellent racing, something that is deserving of their national championship. There is no doubt from recent Speedcar events at the track that they provide some close and exciting racing with plenty of room for regular side by side racing and I’m sure these guys will be three and sometimes four wide.”

The honour roll for the Australian Speedcar Championship reads like a who’s who with luminaries such as Sir Jack Brabham, George Tatnell, Phil March, Robbie Farr, the late Michael Figliomeni joining US stars such as Kevin Swindell, Corey Kruseman, Tony Elliot, Jerry Coons Jnr and triple champ Davey Ray as past winners. 

2015 Lucas Oil Australian Speedcar Championship Schedule

Wednesday February 25, 2015 - Official Practice.

Thursday February 26, 2015 - Calcutta

Friday February 27, 2015 - Night One (Three rounds of heats and a Preliminary A-Main).

Saturday February 28, 2015 - Night Two (One Round of heats, pole shuffle, C Main, B, Main and A-Main 40 laps).


Latest Videos

Latest Photos

Loading script and Flickr images