Speedway News

Lucas Oil Products, Inc.

Wilspeed wears the A1

Wilspeed wears the A1

Last Saturday night Sydney Speedway, Parramatta played host to the prestigious 2016 Australian Lightning Sprint Championship where Lucas Oil Products Of Australia sponsored driver Kurt Wilson and his team took the win and became the newly crowned Australia 1!

With a quality field of 20 cars including Sean Lacono (current Aust 1 & QLD 1), Darren Salmon (former Aust 1) and multiple championship winner A.J McTaggart among the many young guns ready to do battle for the right to carry the coveted Australia 1. 

Kurt started his championship campaign strongly with a second place finish in his first heat followed with a win in his second heat. This put Kurt and the Wilspeed team in a comfortable position in the championship points tally equaling Sean Iacono, the current A1 and a front row start.

The opening laps of the feature event were frantic with Kurt losing a couple of positions. Luckily, multiple re-starts allowed Kurt to stay in touch with the highly competitive top 3, swapping positions with AJ McTaggart and Matt Gearing.
By mid race Kurt had got to the lead and started to distance himself from the rest of the field but with just three laps left to run the yellow lights came on for a spun car. This would set the scene for a four lap dash to the finish line, Kurt got away to a great start and completed four faultless laps to take the biggest win of his career! AJ McTaggart crossed the line in second followed closely by Darren Salmon. 

This Championship win for the Lucas Oil Products supported Wilspeed Racing Team is the icing on the cake for the very dedicated and highly decorated team. 


Photo: Brett Williams Speedway Photos